Parklands Sports Complex

Ward Comimttee Speech - 7 June 2018

Ward Committees 2017

Proposed New Subcouncil Boundaries

Proposed Sub Council Boundaries Proposals

Dear Eric,

Please see the attached information regarding the Subcouncils.

Please note the two separate proposals: One is from the DA and one is from the ANC. Attached also is the motivations from both parties. Please also note that the Subcouncil office will remain in Milnerton and will only change in name from Subcouncil 1 to Subcouncil 3.

The city convened a multi-party committee to look at the clustering of sub councils , below are the macro constraints that guided the decision, unfortunately the two major political parties could not reach consensus on all proposals.

Motivation for new Sub Council Boundaries City of Cape Town 2016 Constraints:
  • The city is implementing a new organizational structure the ODTP that splits the city into 4 area based service delivery districts using the health district boundaries, this means that each district needs to have 6 Sub-Councils that are a minimum of 3 wards and a maximum of 6 wards.
  • Creating integrated communities to overcome apartheid spacial planning.
  • Taking into account physical barriers, i.e. railways, freeways, mountains, rivers and major water ways.
  • Existing city infrastructure, Sub-council offices and budgets, therefore with austerity measures the city cannot expand the number of Sub-councils.
Feel free to share the information.

Kind Regards

Nicky Rheeder
Councillor – Ward 107
072 729 4282

Annexture A

Annexture B

Mayco Proposals For SC Boundaries and Bylaw

BUDGET 2016/17


Municipalities must review its proposed budget and engage with the public according to the Local Government: Municipal Systems Act 32 of 2000, Chapter 4, part 16, subsection (1) (a) (iv), in the preparation of its budget.

As part of the City’s public participation process, the City of Cape Town will undertake this process through public meetings, where the City’s proposed budget review will be presented in a simplified manner to ensure that the community is aware of development within their area and give input.

Public meetings scheduled are listed below:


11 April 2016 - Kraaifontein Civic Centre, Brighton Road Kraaifontein
(Subcouncils: 2, 7)
19:00 - 21:00

12 April 2016 - Leibrandt van Niekerk Hall, South Road, Table View
(Subcouncil: 1)
19:00 - 21:00

13 April 2016 - Sydney Kuhn Civic Centre, Burg Street, Macassar
(Subcouncils: 8, 21, 22)
19:00 - 21:00

14 April 2016 - Tusong Multi-Purpose Centre, Steve Biko Road, Khayelitsha (Opposite Khayelitsha Magistrates Court)
(Subcouncils: 9, 10, 24)
19:00 - 21:00

18 April 2016 - Dulcie September Civic Centre (Main Hall) c/o Klipfontein & Protea Road Athlone
(Subcouncils: 5, 11, 14, 15, 17)
19:00 - 21:00

19 April 2016 - Bellville Banquet Hall, c/o Voortrekker and Oos Road, Bellville
(Subcouncils: 3, 4, 6)
19:00 - 21:00

20 April 2016 Muizenberg Civic Centre, 1 Beach Road, Muizenberg
(Subcouncils 18, 19, 20, 16)
19:00 - 21:00

21 April 2016 Rocklands Civic Centre, Park Avenue, Rocklands, Mitchell’s Plain
(Subcouncil: 12, 13, 23)
19:00 - 21:00

Visit for further information and for enquiries in the language of your choice, contact: